In My Mailbox (7/12 to 7/18)

This week kind of sucked for books. :(

For Review:

NONE! :( This really upset me. Haha

The Bought:

Also, none.

The Borrowed:


A Bad Boy Can be Good for a Girl by Tanya Lee Stone

Three girls succumb to the charms of one sexy high school senior and emerge wiser for the experience in this energetic novel in verse. Josie is a self-assured freshman who values her girlfriends over boys until a hot jock focuses his attention on her and her simmering hormones break into a full boil. Confused by her behavior, yet unable to control her desire, she acts out every romantic cliché she has ever disdained, until the boy drops her and she experiences the chill of rejection. It is Judy Blume's Forever that sparks Josie's fire again, and finding a few blank pages at the back of the library's copy, she sends a warning to the girls of her school. Next readers meet Nicolette, a junior who sees her sexuality as power. A loner, she's caught by surprise at her own reaction when this popular boy takes notice of her. Suddenly she thinks she sees the difference between sex and love, and then, just as suddenly, he's gone. Finally, Aviva, a pretty, smart, artsy, and funny senior, is stunned when the jock seems to want her. She gives up her virginity, only to be disappointed in both the sex and the boy. Furious, Aviva heads to the library to check out Forever, now crammed with the words of girls who suffered the same fate at the hands of the same boy. The free verse gives the stories a breathless, natural flow and changes tone with each narrator. The language is realistic and frank, and, while not graphic, it is filled with descriptions of the teens and their sexuality.


The Au Pairs by Melissa de la Cruz

Sun and sea, hot parties, hot guys, and the promise of $10,000 for taking care of four overprivileged, undersupervised kids. This is the life that awaits three teens during a summer in New York's exclusive Hamptons. Eliza, whose father's fortune fell, is hoping to recapture some of the glamour and luxury of her former life by taking this position where her family once had a summer home. Mara is looking for a way out of her small hometown and a way to earn enough money for a car and college tuition. Jacqui, a Brazilian beauty used to getting everything she wants, is looking for the one thing that eludes her: true love. The three are hired by the Perrys and wade through problematic relationships, power struggles, and the ever-important social scene. De la Cruz name-drops and power-shops throughout, creating an entertaining vision of how "the other half" lives. The Au Pairs offers wealth, status, steamy sex, lots of heavy drinking, changing values, and juicy fun on the East Coast for fans of Zoey Dean's "The A-List" series and Cecily von Ziegesar's "Gossip Girl" series (both Little, Brown).



Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky

Dominique, a high-school senior in Fort Myers, Florida, is an aspiring doctor whose favorite book is Grey's Anatomy. Wes, a fellow senior, becomes her first boyfriend, and the two inexperienced teens explore first love, and sex, together. Written in Dom's authentic voice, Snadowsky's debut novel is an unusually honest portrayal of a teen girl's sexual discovery. Comparisons to Judy Blume's Forever (1975) are inevitable; even the plot, from the couple's initial fumbles to their breakup after separation, is similar. What feels so new here is the nonsensationalized explicitness. Dom speaks with an almost scientific curiosity: "I can recognize the features of his penis from my anatomy books." And her sexual insecurities are just as direct: "What if I squeal or scream or fart?" Also rare and authentic are scenes of Dom experimenting on her own, when she finally experiences her first orgasm. Snadowsky considers all the questions: Does sex mean love? What's normal in a relationship? Like Forever, this sensitive, candid novel is sure to find a wide audience among curious teens.

All summaries from Amazon.

-Lexi(:

4 comments:

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

A Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl is really good. Enjoy your books!

Lilibeth Ramos said...

Anatomy of a Boyfriend looks hilarious just from the cover, lol. Hope you enjoy your borrowed books! Happy Reading!

Windowpane Memoirs said...

Enjoy your books.


Peace
Michelle

katie said...

Ooh the Au Pairs books are really good. Enjoy!

Related Posts with Thumbnails